Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Support Center Home


Editing Submissions

Answer: Instructions on how to edit submissions to SkillsCommons.org can be found in the User Guides under “Editing an Item in the Repository.”

Please see the Contribute Materials section in our support services center to learn how to edit submissions.


Answer: There are no requirements for Grantees to maintain the materials after they are uploaded to the SkillsCommons Repository, after their grant is over.  However, there are many benefits to Grantees and their Institution if they continue to participate in the OER community. CSU-MERLOT and other TAACCCT partners will be working to support a sustainable and successful TAACCCT-OER Community.


Answer: Currently there is no way to cross-reference two deliverables within the submission process.

However, here are two options to work around this limitation:

  1. You can include, in the description, a link to each submission. So, you will first need to upload each submission. Then you will have URLs for each submission. At that point you can go in and edit the descriptions (referring to the Editing section in the user guide) and paste in the URLs you want to cross-reference. OR
  2. You can use the “Based On” field and paste the URLs in this field.

In summary, you will have to complete each submission first to obtain the URLs that you will end up using. You will need to then go in and edit each submission with the URL you have obtained.


Answer: It will not be necessary for grantees to use this feature. Items submitted to the repository are Open Educational Resources and are meant to be public.


Answer: It will not be necessary for grantees to use this feature.


Answer: It will not be necessary for grantees to use the “Withdraw” feature. But yes, if an item is withdrawn it still exists but will be removed from view, search and browse. If the item is withdrawn and then a grantee would like to re-instate the item they will need to contact support@skillscommons.org and supply the full URL of the item.


Answer: No. Each collection has unique fields that need to be captured and therefore can not be  moved between collections.

If you have mistakenly uploaded a submission to the incorrect collection you will need to delete the submission and then add it to the correct collection via the regular single submission process. This will ensure that the required fields for that particular submission are in place.


Answer: Yes, if you click “permanently delete” the item will be completely removed as if it were never uploaded.